Elmore James – The twelve year old boy

“The twelve year old boy” by Elmore James was released in the UK on UK Sue LP ILP 927 The Elmore James Memorial Album. Can anyone confirm that this is the correct version, please.


The Promotional LP


Photos of the label for the white-label promotional LP issued to disc jockeys, rare edition of ILP 919. I would like to thank Graham Shaw for the kind photographs.



First published 6 July 2013


Earlier comments:

Took me 33 years to locate this thing of beauty. Would love to know if anyone else owns a copy.

Graham Shaw , February 14, 2016 at 1:47 am

I have a copy which I have had for a few years. I have seen one other, in Kingbee records in Manchester. I have heard various estimates of how many were produced from just a dozen to a hundred or so. Judging by how often they turn up I would suggest that the lower estimate is closer!

Mike Crawford , February 29, 2016 at 10:30 pm

Hi Mike. I bought the Kingbee copy a few years ago. Agree with your assessment of the probability of only a dozen or so copies being ever produced.

Graham Shaw , March 1, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Jimmy McGriff – The Last Minute LP


“The Last Minute” | Sue Records | ensue2.jpg

Jimmy McGriff’s LP “The last minute” was issued in the UK by Ensign on Sue ENSUE 2. It is essentially identical to ILP 908, It’s Gospel Time, only the original US Title and art work has been restored.

Track listing confirmed: Gospel Time | Gospel Time Encore | Spindletop | Teach Me Tonight | The Last Minute | Moonlight In Vermont | Blip Time | One Of Mine | Drown In My Own Tears | Broadway

Track listing supplied by Paul